PDA

View Full Version : A friend I never met.

Canice
07-11-2007, 12:17 PM
I participate in another cooking board, a small, private board run by a woman near Dallas. Her daughter had died several days after giving birth, and some time later, as a distraction from her grief, and an alternative to an intolerant board she'd frequented, she opened her site, purchasing software and a server to manage security and creativity. Although the number of regular posters is small, they represent several regions of the US, Australia, Great Britain, and a smattering elsewhere. You could really get to know everyone, and as here, lots about family and friends and activities beyond cooking. I've been visiting and posting there for four years, and last summer, while on a business trip to London, I hopped a train to Manchester and met two people I had been corresponding with off-line, and become friends with. What an opportunity!

Last evening I logged on to tell about an interesting discovery, only to learn that our "fearless leader" had died suddenly and unexpectedly. I was stunned for the rest of the day, and slept poorly. And now I am so, so filled with sorrow and loss.

I had to put it in words, for I find myself thinking over and over, "But she was posting Sunday night, cheerful and happy." She died in her sleep some hours later. Oh my.

aggie94
07-11-2007, 12:26 PM
How incredibly sad. I am so very sorry for you and the other members of your board. Even though you may not have ever "met" her in person, you most definitely knew her and will certainly feel her loss. As we all know from this board (and probably others), friendships come about in the strangest of ways, and I think we all have people here that we consider to be good friends, some of whom we may have never met IRL.

Robyn1007
07-11-2007, 12:31 PM