PDA

View Full Version : Help Organizing Recipies

JenCooks
09-10-2007, 09:11 PM
Help! I've been collecting cook books and cooking magazines for the past 8 years. I have a lot of favorite recipes scattered throughout the books and magazines but when the time comes to find the actual recipe I find myself struggling. I recently went through a lot of the magazines and tore out the recipes I wanted then filed them in a 3 ring binder under categories like main dish, appetizers, etc. Problem is I still have a lot of cook books and several magazines that I just can't bring myself to tear up or discard (that could be a whole different problem that I will deal with later). :o

I know a lot of people organize their recipes on the computer but I'm not quite sure how that works. Do I have to go through all my cookbooks and scan in the recipes I like or are you only able to organize recipes already found on the internet???

Thanks!

Robyn1007
09-10-2007, 09:15 PM
First, welcome to the boards.

If you do a search on recipe organization here on the BB there have been many threads on the subject which may or may not have some answers for you. As far as putting older recipes into recipe software, you may be able to scan some in but you may have to type others in, depending on formats etc. It is a huge project and probably one of the biggest barriers to entry for going digital. Good luck with whatever you decide to go with.

blazedog
09-11-2007, 06:33 AM
You are experiencing the fatal flaw in collecting paper recipes -- whether they be clipped or in standard cookbooks. Unless one wants to spend way too much time finding and organizing the recipes, one might as well not own the stuff -- because essentially it is useless clutter.