PDA

View Full Version : Bruise with a red dot in the middle?

SusanL
11-03-2007, 04:36 PM
I never get bruises on the inside of my leg, it looks a bruise but has a red dot in the middle. It is a perfect circle. Any clues? We have been searching and found nothing. Ackk!

Hammster
11-03-2007, 05:02 PM
DW had something like that and we could only come up with it was some sort of insect bite. Is the red dot hot to the touch?
I think she used a little OTC cortisone cream on it.
However, as is said frequently around here, I'm no doctor so keep an eye on it and get to your doctor if it gets worse.

lindaofthelakes
11-03-2007, 05:06 PM
Myaybe a chigger bite with the red dot still the chigger??? Have you been sitting on the ground in the woods?

Vicanddi
11-03-2007, 05:44 PM
Is the red dot raised or flat?

cherylopal
11-03-2007, 06:05 PM
I just had something like that on my leg- a bruise with 3 dots in the center. I had just been on an outward bound type experience on my teacher professional day and thought that I must have run into a twig or something?? It healed like any other bruise and I've not had any other symptoms. It wasn't raised, warm or anything just kinda weird looking.

Puppylove
11-03-2007, 08:14 PM
Could it be a tick?

SusanL
11-03-2007, 10:14 PM
The bruise is elevated and the bite hole is flat. A doctor returned my call later last night and agreed that I shouldn't go to the EMR over the weekend. Just watch it and see. They have too many really more important cases than me. I will watch it and see. But it just seemed so odd~

cminmd
11-04-2007, 08:52 AM
One of the things we do when we tell patients to wait over the weekend is to use a ball point pen to trace the outside of the red area. That way you can be sure that it is getting bigger or smaller. Make sure to keep the bite/bruise very clean because MRSA infections can enter in a tiny bite and become a big problem.

tidee
11-04-2007, 02:01 PM