PDA

View Full Version : Ham newbie - need advice

cocoa'smom
11-21-2008, 02:58 PM
Being raised Jewish, we never had ham cooked at home. We didn't keep kosher, but it was just something my mother never cooked. I'm having a baby shower for about 35 people the weekend after Thanksgiving. I was going to get a Honeybaked Ham, but they are SO expensive. I saw the grocery stores had spiral-sliced hams on sale and was thinking of getting one of those. But, I don't know I'm supposed to do with it once I get it! If I buy it before Thanksgiving while they're on sale, can I freeze it? Or does it keep for a few days in the refrigerator? And, are they raw or already cooked? I'm a complete novice! Also...Kroger has them on sale for $1.99 a pound and their Kroger Private Selection for $2.49 a pound. Publix is advertising theirs on sale for $4.99 a pound. What do you think the difference is other than price? Has anyone had the spiral sliced hams from Kroger? Thanks in advance for any advice or opinions!

sneezles
11-21-2008, 03:19 PM
A spiral sliced ham is already cooked and ready to serve. Most come with a packet of glaze that you can put on and heat the ham. I prefer my ham cold/room temperature so I never heat it but the package will have directions for doing it in the oven. If you buy it now it will keep for at least a week (it will have either a use by or freeze by date).

The price difference may be due to cut of the ham...

sneezles
11-21-2008, 03:23 PM
Here's a page to read:

Ham Shopping Guide (http://www.recipetips.com/kitchen-tips/t--742/ham-shopping-guide.asp)

BTA: I've been reading that info and I guess hams do come uncooked (Not referring to fresh ham either). So you do need to read the label.

cocoa'smom
11-22-2008, 08:57 AM
Does anyone subscribe to cooksillustrated.com that could check this article for me? I'd like to find out the results of their taste test and also their recipe for Glazed Spiral Slice Ham. Thanks!

sneezles
11-22-2008, 09:47 AM