PDA

View Full Version : freezing cookies with icing?

greysangel
09-19-2001, 02:09 PM
hey there :)

I'm pretty new at the whole baking thing and I'm planning to make some gingerbread cookies (in shapes of wings and devil horns) with icing for this heaven in hell party I am doing. My question is how long will these keep in an airtight container? Can I layer them or will the icing rub off? Can they be frozen?

Thanks for all your help :)

JeAnne, better at dinner than dessert!

schuh
09-19-2001, 02:15 PM
I'm curious to hear more about your party!

The answers to many of your questions depend on what kind of icing you're using. If you're using royal icing (which has meringue powder in it and dries hard) they can be layered and frozen with no problem. These are probably the easiest cookies to manage.

If you're using a glaze (confectioner's sugar and some sort of liquid), wait until the cookies dry and then layer with wax paper between them.

If you're using a bakery-type frosting you'll again need to wait for them to dry before layering with wax paper.

Don't use the frosting you buy at the grocery store. It stays sticky forever and the only way to store them will be in a single layer.

Freezing is fine -- just wrap well.

Mamasue
09-19-2001, 02:16 PM
JeAnne....I make gingerbread cookies at Christmas time and make them ahead of time as well as other assorted cookies and freeze. Make your cookies and when they are completely cool freeze them as is. Frost them a day or two before you are going to serve them. If you want to store them in a container after they are frosted and decorated make sure that the icing is completely dry and hard before you start stacking them or else they will stick to each other. If you need an icing recipe, I have one that I use with success. Goog Luck!

SandyM
09-19-2001, 02:16 PM
Hi JeAnne,