PDA

View Full Version : what can i substitute for tawny port?

jjf
12-04-2001, 05:02 PM
i am trying out a pork tenderloin recipe from bon appetite and it calls for tawny port - does anyone know what a good substitute would be and what kind of flavor it adds to a recipe? i can go buy it if it is essential. thanks.

jen

Molli526
12-04-2001, 05:08 PM
This doesn't answer your question but I have heard tawny port is very yummy.

RebeccaT
12-04-2001, 05:09 PM
Jen, is this the Pork Tenderloin with Cranberry-Port sauce? I'm making that this weekend for a dinner party, and I have never tried it before! However, when I got it off of epicurious.com, a couple of reviewers said that they had substituted red wine - Cabernet I think. I am sure that would affect the taste, since port is sweet, but those who did it said the results were good. I have not yet decided what I am going to do; I may just go get a small bottle since I am making it for a dinner party and I don't want to fool around with the recipe too much. But if you try a substitution, please let me know how it goes! :D

- Rebecca

Little Bit
12-04-2001, 05:24 PM
Here's a snippet from the foodsubs website:

( http://www.foodsubs.com/Aperitif.html )