PDA

View Full Version : ISO: Your Favorite Homemade Salad Dressings

patsyk
07-18-2002, 03:33 PM
We have been on a huge salad kick this summer and have been trying to keep things interesting by putting chicken on the BBQ after marinating it in various marinades (we are BIG fans of the one's made by Lawry's). I have also been adding various things to the salad to make it as filling as possible for a main dish.

Since I am new to WW and want to continue to use dressing on the salad besides always doing oil and balsamic vinegar I would love to hear what your favorite dressings are... preferably easy to prepare and very flavorful!

TIA - Patsy :D

sushibones
07-18-2002, 05:07 PM
Here's a couple of threads with the same question:

http://community.cookinglight.com/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=116325&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending

kbucky
07-18-2002, 05:07 PM
I finally have a garden this summer, and we've adopted this easy dressing as our 'house' because it's so easy and tasty! Someone (sorry I don't remember who...thanks whoever you are!) shared it on the bb a while back and I'd filed it away. It's great with a basic green salad (and really yummy with my fresh mesclun!)

Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette

Recipe By: Eating Well Secrets of Low-Fat Cooking

2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons maple syrup
2 teaspoons grainy mustard
salt and pepper -- to taste

In a small bowl, whisk oil, vinegar, syrup, mustard, salt and pepper until well-blended. Alternatively, combine ingredients in a small jar, secure the lid, and shake until well-blended.

Makes 1/3 cup. Serve on any green salad. Keeps in the refrigerator for a week or two.

mb
07-18-2002, 06:13 PM
ok, this isn't homemade (entirely), but i found it to be really delicious. i ordered the creamy peppercorn salad dressing mix from penzeys and it was OUTSTANDING! yum! yum! yum!