PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for week-long getaway for single traveller

foodfiend
01-16-2003, 05:49 PM
I'd like to get away for a while -- a retreat, maybe. I was considering just staying at a resort, but I'd like something more adventurous (something like Outward Bound but quite as adventurous). It can be in the U.S. or Canada. Any recommendations?

Natasha3
01-16-2003, 06:08 PM
Hi foodfiend!

What time of year are you looking to get away? Winter, or when it gets a bit warmer (or are you looking to go someplace that is warm now)? Are you a winter sports fan or do you like any outdoor activities in particular? How far would you prefer to travel? I can probably give you some ideas if I have a bit more in mind about what you like to do. :) I love outdoor and fairly active vacations!

Natasha

foodfiend
01-16-2003, 06:30 PM
Lots of questions! I'd like something outdoorsy, but I have limited experience e.g. I don't know how to ski. I love B.C. and I love hiking in the mountains. But I'm open to suggestions. Anything where I can appreciate nature and come back refreshed.

Chefzhat
01-16-2003, 06:48 PM
Is Banff too far away? It's beautiful there, lots of hiking, heli-hiking, skiing, nature, etc.

Debie

Kayla
01-16-2003, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by Chefzhat
Is Banff too far away? It's beautiful there, lots of hiking, heli-hiking, skiing, nature, etc.

Debie

Debie read my mind... I was going to suggest Banff as well. It is supposed to be spectacular ... no wait, BEYOND spectacular. Gorgeous, outdoorsy, relaxing, breathtaking... etc. My mother went last summer and came home with rave reviews... "like no place on earth"

aggie94
01-16-2003, 07:59 PM
You might think about checking out some of the adventure trips that REI sponsors:

http://www.rei.com/adventures/index.html?stat=side_24

I haven't been, but I would love to one day.

foodfiend
01-16-2003, 08:14 PM