PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for Post Surgery Food Gift

tigerlilly
01-23-2003, 08:50 AM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the boards, but have quickly become impressed with all your ideas and words of wisdom...I'm hoping you can help me. A neighbor of mine is coming out of a 4 day stint in the hospital. I've been walking her dog, but thought it would also be nice to make her a little something as a treat. She'll be having her daughter and son-in-law stay with her so she'll have plenty of home cooked meals. I thought I would leave her either snack food or a breakfast bread/muffins - something of that nature. The surgery she had is related to her weight problem which she is working hard to overcome, so I'd like to stay away from cookies and sweets and focus on something a little healthier.

Any thoughts would be most appreciated!

JulieM
01-23-2003, 10:22 AM
Hi Tigerlilly! Interesting question... after surgery you tend to want comfort foods (like icecream :o). I was wondering, is she now on a special diet or should she be avoiding high fiber foods? If not, healthy muffins might be a good idea, maybe in a basket with some good tea. Hot tea is so comforting with so many health benefits. And ginger tea is soothing for the stomach. And you might want to consider making mini-muffins instead of the full sized since her appetite may be light at this time.

stefania4
01-23-2003, 10:31 AM
If she's overcoming a weight problem, how about an exotic fruit basket? A good fresh pineapple, some pomegrantes, mango, good strawberries if you can find them...

A coffee basket is another way to go.

swquilts
01-23-2003, 10:55 AM
If she has had bariatric (sp?) surgery they are on a restricted diet (liquid I think) for a few days. Maybe a food gift that will keep for a bit or can be frozen.

Maybe a couple of paperbacks or a new low fat cookbook? How about an issue of Cooking Light?

(Correct me if I'm wrong though on the restricted diet thing....:( )

valchemist
01-23-2003, 12:13 PM