PDA

View Full Version : Where Do You Keep Your Butter (or Margarine?)

fci5767
05-05-2003, 05:55 PM
I was talking to a few friends this morning and somehow we got on the subject of storing butter. Apparently many people keep there butter or margarine on the counter instead of the refrigerator. This was surprising for me. I have lived in 4 different states in the past 15 years and have never seen anyone keep their butter on the counter.

Obviously a lot of people do it. Maybe it's a regional thing. I know that you can buy a special butter boat or bowl that is designed to keep it cool for several days but some people just keep it out so it stays soft.

What do you do? This is my first time posting a poll, so I hope I'm doing it right.

Beth

tbb113
05-05-2003, 06:04 PM
I don't go through that much butter or margarine to feel safe on keeping it on the counter. I would be afraid it would be rancid the next time I used it.

newcook
05-05-2003, 06:21 PM
I keep it in the freezer, mostly because I didn't cook (until recently) and it would spoil otherwise.

wallycat
05-05-2003, 06:24 PM
I place 3 of the sticks in the freezer and the 4th in the fridge.
We don't go through it fast enough and I'd worry ..

My DH's daughter keeps her on the counter all the time; she thinks I'm weird :D :) ;)

Goldie
05-05-2003, 06:50 PM
Hmm - something new for me to worry about:eek:

I have always kept my butter (a partial stick) in a butter dish in the cupboard so it would be soft when I needed it. I have been doing this for about 30 years (:eek: :eek: ) and don't recall ever having any problems. There are only 2 of us, so it's not like we go through it real fast either.

Sami
05-05-2003, 07:03 PM