PDA

View Full Version : Mexican Hot Cocoa


MrAlaMode
01-21-2001, 07:15 PM
Hello all...just wanted to share this great recipe I found. My kids really like hot cocoa, especially during these cold winter nights, but I hate giving them the cheap powdered mixes. This is an excellent alternative, found this recipe at www.verybesmeals.com, (http://www.verybesmeals.com,) an amazing cooking website. Hope you like it!

Mexican Hot Cocoa


Serves 2
-- Recipe Provided by Nestle Tollhouse Est. preparation time:
Est. cooking time:
5 mins
5 mins


Ingredients:

3 to 4 tablespoons granulated sugar
3 tablespoons NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Baking Cocoa
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 1/3 cups milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

COMBINE sugar, cocoa and cinnamon in small, heavy-duty saucepan; gradually stir in milk. Warm over medium heat, stirring constantly, until hot (do not boil). Remove from heat; stir in vanilla extract. Beat with wire whisk until frothy.

Laura B
01-21-2001, 07:16 PM
Do you think he misspelled the name of his website on purpose?

slknight
01-21-2001, 07:16 PM
ARGH. They're back...!!!!

kwormann
01-21-2001, 07:22 PM
Im catching on....I was suspicious as soon as I saw the name....

Kim

hhcowgirl
01-21-2001, 07:45 PM
Mr.Alamode:
The only thing you are accomplishing is turning us all OFF as far as ************* go. We are all laughing at you, please stop barraging us with your pilfered advertising space.


(Sorry guys, just thought someone should address him directly then maybe he would get the point).

Gelfling
01-21-2001, 08:23 PM
Darn, I was hoping this person was talking about real mexican hot cocoa. I recently bought some mexican chocolate 'cause I've seen it twice on foodtv. It has the cinnamon and sugar right in the chocolate, really cool! Picked some up at a mexican store, then the same day went to Super Target and discovered it there!

kwormann
01-21-2001, 08:27 PM
Gelfling, DH made some from a foodtv.com recipe..you should try a search....

Kim

Vanessa
01-22-2001, 10:47 AM
I bought this tablet like Mexican chocolate. It has sugar in it. It is so good. I just break it into milk and cook it until its melted and use a whisk. Also here a recipe from foodtv

CHOCOLATE MEXICANA
M.S. Milliken & S. Feniger
3 squares sweetened Mexican chocolate grated
8 cups milk

Put the milk and chocolate into an earthenware pot and cook over a low heat until the chocolate has melted. Stir constantly so that it does not stick to the pan.

When the chocolate comes to a boil, lower the heat and beat vigorously with a molinillo until a thick foam rises to the top.

Serve hot in earthenware mugs.

Beth
01-22-2001, 04:12 PM
Originally posted by SandyM:
MrAlaMode is using a phony e-mail address. I sent him a note telling him to kiss off, and it came back as undeliverable.

Color me surprised.
[This message has been edited by SandyM (edited 01-22-2001).]


I did send a note last night and did not get a delivery failure message. I wonder if it went through. Maybe they got mine and pulled the plug to move on to another name.

LGBurns
01-22-2001, 07:49 PM
Mrs Reber: Maelynn has put a censor on the site's name -- that's why you only see **********s. (YAY Maelynn!) That's also probably why Mr. AlaMode mispelled the site name. I wish there was a way we could retaliate on their site. But I guess the best retaliation is to never give the site a hit so I won't go looking.

Kim: I'm catching on too! The first thing I thought when I saw the name was "uh. oh. here we go again."

[This message has been edited by LGBurns (edited 01-22-2001).]

debg
01-22-2001, 09:19 PM
I'm confused...

"ARGH. They're back...!!!!"
Who's back???

"Im catching on....I was suspicious as soon as I saw the name...."
What's to be suspicious of???

"Mr.Alamode: The only thing you are accomplishing is turning us all OFF as far as ************* go. We are all laughing at you, please stop barraging us with your pilfered advertising space.

Call me naive...but what's going on??? I don't want to go to the website myself for fear of giving him a "hit" when he doesn't deserve one! But, I sure as heck don't understand!

Laura B
01-22-2001, 09:23 PM
debg - there have been a few (or maybe all the same person with different screen names) people advertising for a web site. "They" post with a suggestion of a recipe to try and say that they got it from a "really great site" called www.************* (http://www.*************) .com. It started as sneaky advertising, but now it is just a game to them. CL has blocked the name of the website to try and prevent the posts. But they are just misspelling the website name so it will show up enough just to **** us all off (censorship added by me on that one http://www.cookinglight.com/bbs/wink.gif ).

[This message has been edited by Laura B (edited 01-22-2001).]

sneezles
01-22-2001, 09:29 PM
There are people who attempt to "sell" their website to those of us on this BB. They use the utmost ridiculous names and if you check the profile, you'll notice they are not legitimate BBers. It's just a cheap form of advertising and an insult to those of us who use this board for advise and support!

Gail
01-22-2001, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by debg:
I'm confused...
...I sure as heck don't understand!
Since I'm so long-winded, I see LauraB's already made explanation. Whomever has been planting these ads keeps changing Username, gives fictious profile info and e-mail addresses and is generally getting on a lot of nerves. Since Maelynn has censored the name of the web site, it appears the advertiser sought to get around the censor by misspelling the web link. I can see no useful point in plugging a site when the link is rendered invalid, which makes me wonder whether the poster is more interested in causing a nuisance than actually plugging the site. That being the case, perhaps silence would be our best weapon...no more angry answers, no more pleas to go away, no more jokes, nothing. Next time I spot one of these obvious plants, I think I'll just pass on by and make my bad jokes elsewhere...


[This message has been edited by Gail (edited 01-22-2001).]

Colleen
01-22-2001, 10:30 PM
Debg,
I am with you. I had no idea of what was going on. You guys are really quick to pick up on this. Too bad too, I was looking forward to a new hot chocolate....Is this a legitimate recipe? Or just pishposh?

But, I won't take the bait, I won't go to the site.

SandyM
01-22-2001, 11:03 PM
MrAlaMode is using a phony e-mail address. I sent him a note telling him to kiss off, and it came back as undeliverable.

Color me surprised.

The only Nestle product I use is their chocolate chips. I think I like Ghiradelli so much better now.

[This message has been edited by SandyM (edited 01-22-2001).]

Susann
01-22-2001, 11:14 PM
Am I being too much of an English teacher here? Is it my imagination or are the writing styles of 'all'these advertisers remarkably similar?

That is it! I am quitting my day job and going to work with Mulder and Scully!!!:0 http://www.cookinglight.com/bbs/smile.gif http://www.cookinglight.com/bbs/smile.gif

MrsReber
01-22-2001, 11:23 PM
I just love the little stories they make up for us!

Hey, I figure soon we won't have to check out their website anyway, since this guy is bound to post all of the recipes in the next few days.

Are the being edited somehow? I see ******'s in stead of letters.

[This message has been edited by MrsReber (edited 01-22-2001).]

shoyski
01-23-2001, 11:19 PM
Gail, I agree. I'll do the same.