PDA

View Full Version : Vidalia Onions


gabbyh
04-08-2001, 09:36 AM
Again, I am tempted to order from the colored section of the Sunday paper...has anyone ever ordered vidalia onions and had them shipped? I've always been tempted to, only because the ones I buy in the market never taste as sweet as they claim to be...there is an introductory offer, which includes 5lbs. of Jumbo Vidalias, a free onion cooker, free seasoning, and free family recipes...all for $14.95...a bit pricey, but I want to see if I can actually taste a difference once and for all!
Here is the info if anyone else is interested:1-800-843-2542, Item #A005CS, CODE: BV01A This must be a special offer, I don't see it listed on their website: www.blandfarms.com (http://www.blandfarms.com)

Sara Emily
04-08-2001, 07:27 PM
gabbyh, I don't know where you live, but I am fortunate enough to live in the south, where the Vidalia onions are plentiful and truly delicious! There is a real controversy about Vidalias, in that many different companies and farms like to use this name for their onions because they got starter plants of the right variety, but THAT IS JUST NOT ENOUGH! They also must be grown in certain types of soil, under certain specific weather conditions, etc. (It's sort of like cheap wineries that want to label anything that bubbles "champagne." Or the Parmegano-Reggiano cheese!) In order to assure that you're getting the REAL thing, you have to look for a company that offers authenticity and quality control - GUARANTEED!

Real Vidalias, in season, are so sweet and delicious that it is a common thing down here for people to have onion sandwiches for lunch!

Having said all that, I've not seen the ad to which you refer, but Bland Farms is a very reputable and reliable company, well respected in our parts. As you say, they are a bit pricey, but you will be getting the genuine article. (They also ship GREAT GA peaches when the season is right!)