PDA

View Full Version : Is this a scam?


Molli526
01-16-2005, 07:58 AM
A friend e-mailed me this link to stop getting pre-approved credit or insurance.

https://www.optoutprescreen.com/

I would like to stop getting these in the mail, but I also am leary of entering my SSN number.

Is this a scam? I know the friend who sent it to me isn't trying to scam me and wouldn't pass on something that was knowingly, but I haven't heard anything about it.

Thanks

KathrynY
01-16-2005, 08:11 AM
Molli, I don't know about that particular link (I would be leery of entering my SSN also) but your post reminded me of this (http://community.cookinglight.com/showthread.php?postid=174022&highlight=credit+AND+card#post174022) older thread. I've been meaning to call the number that Lisa posted to try and reduce the amount of pre-approved items we get in the mail - it's ridiculous!

lindrusso
01-16-2005, 08:18 AM
I found this online at Denverpost.com

BBB OKs website to screen out junk mail
Want to get less junk mail in 2005?

The BBB of Southern Colorado on Thursday announced that a website that allows consumers to "opt out" is legitimate.

The website, www.optoutprescreen.com, sponsored by Washington-based Consumer Data Industry Association, allows consumers to exercise their right to refuse unwanted mail.

To opt out of pre-approved offers for credit cards and insurance, consumers will be asked for personal information including Social Security numbers. The BBB said the website is a secure and safe place to enter private information.


I'd keep checking first, though.....

Alysha :)

funniegrrl
01-16-2005, 11:29 AM
You don't have to use a third party to do this. These credit card companies get your name/address from the three credit reporting agencies: Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion. They simply ask for the mailing info for people who meet whatever criteria they give them. You can tell these agencies to NOT release your information to anyone unless you have an existing relationship with them or did something to prompt the request, i.e., apply for credit, fill out a rental application, etc. Be aware it may take several months for the offers to trickle off as lists are generated for a while before the mailings actually go out. I did this several years ago and I NEVER get these credit solicitations. I do get them every now and then, but they are associated with companies I already do business with, like a AAA-branded credit card.

So, I don't know if this org's a scam or not, but they're unnecessary as you can do this yourself.