PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a cat with thyroid issues?

tmsl
07-12-2005, 08:01 AM
I am afraid one of my cats may have a thyroid problem. We had a friend who's cat had thyroid issues and my cat has similar symptoms. She pulls her hair out in clumps and has recently lost some weight but her appetite is still hearty. I have an appointment to take her to the vet on Saturday, but was wondering what I might encounter if this is her problem. Does anyone have experience with this??

TIA

Laura

lhall
07-12-2005, 08:16 AM
I had a dog who had a thyroid problem. I was able to treat her condition with meds.

Leigh

mcgeiger
07-12-2005, 08:44 AM
As a student I cannot diagnose (especially without seeing the kitty), but there are several things that can cause problems like those. I highly recommend that you take your cat to the vet sooner than later . The vet will likely recommend bloodwork and possibly other diagnostics, but if it is thyroid it can be controlled by medication (there are some other options too).

KimK
07-12-2005, 09:25 AM
Hi Laura,

My 17 year old cat has hyperthyroid issues and is on daily medication to control it. Without the meds, he is one sick kitty. On the meds, he is great!

The nice thing about the medication I use, methylprednizole or something like that, is that I buy it from a compounding pharmacy which ships the meds directly to me. (My vet calls in the prescription.) So instead of giving my cat a pill, I massage some ointment into the thin skin on the inside of his ear twice daily. My cat is NOT a pill taker!!!! There are a couple of downsides to this particular mdication: it costs about $60 per month and sometimes the medication can cause kidney problems. To make sure we catch the kidney problems if they are going to occur, he has to have bloodwork done every 6 months, which is another $90 bucks, not to mention another horrifying trip to the vet (I'd gladly pay twice that to have the vet drive the 3 miles to my house).