PDA

View Full Version : Does your office dress casually or "formally"?

foodfiend
07-24-2006, 07:02 AM
People dress casually at the place I'm at now, but then again it's summertime. Wondered if the standards of dress have changed at other offices.

dixie
07-24-2006, 07:07 AM
"business casual" men generally wear dress pants and a golf shirt or button down shirt, no tie. Women wear summer pants, skirts, nice capris, etc...no stockings but nice shoes. Its typically freezing in the office so tho we may wear a sleeveless top most women will have jacket or sweater on too. Its pretty much the same in the winter...just heavier clothes!

ChristineVA
07-24-2006, 07:09 AM
We are supposed to be "formal" Monday-Thursday and then business casual on Friday.

Of course, with the styles of women's clothing these days, it is very hard to look "office appropriate."

Laura
07-24-2006, 07:17 AM
The firm I have started working with is formal. However, as I am an attorney, and may have to go to court, I guess I can understand it. I wear pants most days, so I don't have to wear pantyhose though.

Hammster
07-24-2006, 07:27 AM
People dress casually at the place I'm at now, but then again it's summertime. Wondered if the standards of dress have changed at other offices.

As mentioned in previous posts about standards of dress, I think we generally dress down more now than ever before. Some offices, such as attorneys, and those who deal with the public tend to dress better than those offices and businesses who don't have to deal with the public. I'm in a manufacturing environment and unless we have customers coming to visit, everyone from CEO on down dress pretty casually. I've seen the CEO in slacks and a button down shirt with his sleeves rolled up past the elbows. My normal attire is blue jeans and a polo shirt. Although if I know I'm going to be more hands on and physical during the day I'll put on a t-shirt or some other shirt that I don't mind damaging (potentially).