Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cheese - already grated/shredded? or fresh only?

Smile Cheese - already grated/shredded? or fresh only?

Hi -

I am a Food Professional with Kraft Kitchens and like everyone else, I sometimes need help with my family meals - what to make (quickly, during the week) and what the kids will eat!

We use a lot of cheese to jazz things up and get the kids to try new things (hey, grated Parmesan on some steamed broccoli really adds some interest for my daughter!)

I was wondering if others feel strongly about grating/shredding fresh only or if you would use already grated or shredded cheeses?

Lisa

Hi Lisa,

I typically buy pre-shredded cheddar, cheddar-jack and mozzarella (those types of cheeses). I buy chunks of the harder cheeses like Parm and grate those myself as I think it tastes better/fresher than the pre-shredded types. That said, when a recipe calls for A LOT of grated Parm, I have purchased the pre-shredded for ease.... I really don't care for grating cheese for long periods of time.

Kate

Is this a professional enquiry on behalf of Kraft, or a personal one?

I always grate. Much better flavor and no surprises. Can't be too sure what preservatives they put in the pre-grated stuff.

If you are fishing for info on the new Kraft Parmesan ... I wouldn't buy it. I prefer Parmigiano Reggiano or Grana Padano.

Quote Originally Posted by funniegrrl View Post
    Probably professional since she is using her company name... but I'll answer it in the interest of customer input.

Years ago I found that buying cheese by the piece is so much less expensive than buying pre-shredded. So I get this pound chunk of whatever and, within 3 or 4 days of buying it, haul out the Cusinart, attach the shredding blade, and shred the whole thing. Then I dump it into a freezer bag, label it, and freeze.