Community Message Boards

Thread: Videotaping a funeral

Videotaping a funeral

A very dear friend of mine from work passed away suddenly on Sunday. It's been a helluva week, as you can imagine.

The funeral was today, at the funeral home. The place was filled to capacity. Out of the corner of my eye I see a very tall man dressed in a suit. In his hand is a small video camera that is aimed right at the 23 year old daughter of my friend as she sobs uncontrollably. He pans to the right to fix the camera on the (open) casket, and then further to the right, doing a complete 360 turn, filming the guests at the funeral. He filmed the entire service.

I know my friend's son and daughter very well, and I'm relatively certain they didn't request this.

What would the reasoning be behind this - any thoughts?

A peculiar behavior

As a grief therapist, I have not come across this particular way of "saving" funeral moments, and I doubt that a grieving daughter needs to be reminded of her pain by viewing it on videotape. Could someone unable to attend ask for this tape? How very unpleasant and painful it must have been for those of you who noticed what was going on.

The funeral home offered this service as well as still pictures of my grandmother in the casket. I personally found it very troubling, but I didn't get to make the decisions. I just know that I don't ever want to see the video or the pictures.

That would be my thought, that someone was unable to attend, and that is why it was videotaped. I hope that whoever that was had the OK from the family!

So sorry to hear of your loss. (((Sandy)))
    “When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed
    door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”

Helen Keller (1880–1968)

Quote Originally Posted by Karen in Mexico View Post