Community Message Boards

Thread: Letting cinnamon rolls rise in fridge

Question Letting cinnamon rolls rise in fridge

Is it acceptable to let the rolls do their final rise in the refrigerator overnight?

I've seen some recipes that call for it and can't think of a reason why it wouldn't work for any cinnamon roll recipe. But then, I'm not much of a yeast bread baker, so thought I'd seek out some experienced input

TIA,
    Allison

Yes!

A long slow rise can result in better rolls. Not that I'm an expert baker, but I learned that here on the BB.

Leigh
    "Mommy, Can we Please, Please, Please have spinach for dinner?" DD2(age 6)

it works great-- just be sure to get them out early in the morning so they can get to room temp, or close, before baking.

in fact, my Betty Crocker cookbook recommends

I was going to ask the same question - I'd like to make sticky buns for breakfast tomorrow (the recipe from KA whole grain baking book). Do I just refrigerate the pan as soon as I put it together? How long should I expect it to take to warm up to room temp?
    The motive power of democracy is love. ~ Henri Bergson

I don't know if you already have a recipe or not, but I have made this one many times and it always come out great! I made it when my mom, sister, and brother in law were visiting and got rave reviews, they loved it.
    The recipe I adapted from allrecipes.com and it is pretty easy to make.
    I also posted this in my blog, so if you would like to see a picture and what I talked about it you can take a peek here.
    I am not sure if the method would work with any recipe, but to be true I don't see why it wouldn't... just put in the fridge overnight and then take it out about 30 minutes before baking on the next morning, just so it has a chance to finish rising. It is such a great idea do make it overnight, you just wake up to a warm breakfast and your kitchen smells divine!
    Ana

Overnight Cinnamon Rolls (adapted from allrecipes.com)
    1 cup milk