Community Message Boards

Thread: Hatch Chile Time

Question Hatch Chile Time

What are some of your favorite uses for the hatch chiles? Im a yankee..living in TX so Im pretty new to them...and they are everywhere here right now and incredibley inexpensive! Id love to hear your ideas! Thanks!

Green chile chicken enchiladas, green chile stew, in CL's Roasted Chicken Chimichangas, smothering a chicken breast, on pizza, on cheeseburgers, mixed with cream cheese on a bagel.

"Life isn't about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself" ~ George Bernard Shaw

I think Central Market has a Hatch Chile cookbook; you might want to check that out.
    If you're afraid of butter, use cream. ~~ Julia Child

As you cook, you enjoy omniscience about food that no amount of label reading can match. Having retaken control of the meal from the food scientists, you know exactly what is in it. (Unless you start w/cream of mushroom soup, in which case all bets are off.) To reclaim control over one's food, to take it back from industry & science, is no small thing; indeed, in our time, cooking from scratch qualifies as subversive. ~~ Michael Pollan

Quote Originally Posted by Robyn1007 View Post
    Green chile chicken enchiladas, green chile stew, in CL's Roasted Chicken Chimichangas, smothering a chicken breast, on pizza, on cheeseburgers, mixed with cream cheese on a bagel.
    All of the above and....in eggs, green chile sauce, chile rellenos.

I'm so envious. When we lived in NM we would buy a bushel of green chiles, roast, peel and freeze them. Then we would have them all year. The smell of roasting green chiles is absolutely divine!

When we moved to TX my mom and dad would send us a bushel by UPS each year and we would do the same thing. Now that my father is no longer alive and my mom is ill we'll have to order them on the web if we want them in bulk, which I'm sure will be very expensive.

I haven't seen any here in the Atlanta area. Hmmm...I'll have check Harry's.