Community Message Boards

Thread: How do I get a crispy bottom crust with apple pie?

How do I get a crispy bottom crust with apple pie?

The bottom crust of my apple pies are always limp and soggy. I've never made a pie with a crisp bottom crust.

I hate runny pies and always cook my apple filling before putting it in the crust to get the juices out and thickened. So that's not it.

It's probably the pie pan but I've tried several. I use the PC deep dish stoneware pie pan, a clear glass Pyrex and an aluminum/metal pan. Every pan has given me soggy crusts.

What do you all use to get nice crispy bottom crusts?
    The term "working mother" is redundant.

I'm no pie expert, but have you tried baking it on the bottom shelf w/the pie pan on top of a hot stone?

Tehehe! When I opened this thread all I saw was the bottom line and I inadvertently read it as: "What do you use to get a crispy bottom?"

Seriously, I would like to know as well! I've been pre-baking my crusts which has helped some and I even started doing it for my pumpkin pies.

I use pyrex "pans" and I bake on a baking stone.
    Blogging it! A healthy serving of books, a dash of food, a splash of knitting, all topped off with the occasional trip. Serving recipe reviews on Mondays, book reviews on Thursdays.

Scifi with a Dash of Paprika

Do you start your pies at a high temperature for the first 15 minutes of baking?

I start all fruit pies at 450 and then down to either 350 or 375 for the remainder of the baking time.

I am not a pie making expert but do crispy bottomed fruit pies exist anywhere?

I have had pies from various theoretical knock your socks off pie emporiums and invariably the bottom crush is pretty soggy -- I don't know how it couldn't be since the liquid from even the most solid fruit filling is going to soften the bottom crust.
    Some days I pray for Silence, Some days I pray for Soul,
    Some days I just pray to the God of Sex and Drums and Rock 'N' Roll.

Meatloaf