Community Message Boards

Thread: Question about Self-Cleaning Oven

Question about Self-Cleaning Oven

I am embarrased to ask, but.....I decided to run the oven through the self-cleaning cycle. I've never done this before and don't really know how it works and no longer have the manual. So here is my question--does it turn itself off when it's done? Do I need to do anything?

I haven't yet used the self-cleaning feature in the apt. From what I remember from the oven in my former house, I took the racks out and turned the oven on. The oven turned itself off and stayed locked for an extended cool-down period. It would then unlock. The process took a few hours.

I did this last year. You want to take the racks out. The oven will lock itself and stay locked through the cycle. It will tell you when it is done and unlock. The odor was vile. You want any pet birds in a room far from the oven that is well ventilated. You want any pets out of the way too.

I had the ventilation running and all windows open. So if you live somewhere that isn't practical, you might want to hold off until the spring. Or do it when nobody is home.

You might want to oil the racks lightly to help them slide. I noticed that mine do not slide as well.
    Theresa & Gigi & Anisette & Enchante & Le Beau Ouiseaux Rouge

Just a word to the wise--if you have a gas stove, be careful.

A friend of mine's life (and her son's) was saved by her CO2 detector when running the self clean feature. She remembers playing with her son, and then them both waking up to the alarm. It was spring and she hadn't opened any windows so there was no ventilation. It was a fairly new house as well; they decided on a whim on the CO2 detectors during construction, thank goodness.
    Jennifer

And in the end it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years.
    --Abraham Lincoln

Write it on your heart that everyday is the best day of the year.
    --Emerson