Community Message Boards

Thread: YUCK! Blood-tinged egg!

YUCK! Blood-tinged egg!

We were cracking eggs for banana-walnut buttermilk pancakes this morning...egg #2 when opened contained all this blood-tinged albumin...GROSS! Has anyone ever seen this before? Needless to say, we tossed the mix and started over again. I told DH, I betcha someone on CL BB has seen this and knows what it is!

Sorry to share something so yucky first thing in the morning!

I'm not an expert on this, but I wouldn't use a blood-tinged egg.

One of the big things I remember my mom teaching me when I first started to cook is to always crack eggs into a separate bowl and THEN add it to your mix. Her reasoning was for just what happened to you - if the egg is bad and you add it directly to your mix - then you have to toss the entire mix. BUT...if you crack it into an empty bowl first - you can just toss that one egg and try another.

tracey

If I remember correctly, if there is blood in an egg, it has been fertilized......yep, a visit from Mr. Roaster.
    I've been taught to always toss them. Anyway, it too gross for me to use any if it can.

Tracey, your Mom and my mom must have gone to the same school or grown up together or something, because that is exactly what my Mom taught me too! (Although I will admit I don't always do it, but I always think about the fact that I'm taking a chance......now maybe I'll start doing it again!)

Grace, isn't it funny some of the little things we remember?