Community Message Boards

Thread: Instant yeast vs. regular

Instant yeast vs. regular

I always use regular yeast when baking bread but notice more recipes calling for instant or rapid rise yeast. Can they be interchanged and if so how? I realize regular yeast is dissolved in water first while instant is adding right to the flour. Just want to know if I use regular instead of rapid rise.
    You think you're not ever going to be able to eat another thing, but alas, you will find yourself feeling strangely peckish around teatime. The more you eat, the more you want. That's the way it goes."

Nigella Lawson

I am not an expert, but I tend to use what the recipe calls for. However, if you have bread machine yeast, it is basically the instant (or rapid) yeast, just labelled differently. The only difference I am aware of is that this faster yeast only requires one rising.

Here is some info from www.breadworld.com (I went on the Canadian site for your sake)

Can Quick Rise and Bread Machine Yeast be used in Traditional recipes?

Yes. Simply follow the One-Rise Method detailed on every package. For best results, add undissolved Quick Rise or Bread Machine Yeast to dry ingredients first. Add liquids and fat heated to 120to 130F. To use the traditional Two-Rise Method, add sugar to water before stirring in Yeast.

Can Traditional be used in Quick Rise recipes?

Yes, but with limitations. The Traditional has larger granules and it is necessary to dissolve completely for the yeast to work. Therefore, Traditional works best if dissolved in warm water (100 to 110F). To use the electric mixer method, combine yeast with 1/4 to 1/3 of the flour and other dry ingredients.

What is the difference between fast-rising yeast (Quick Rise/Bread Machine Yeast) and Traditional Yeast?