Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do you make recipes you grew up with?

Hybrid View

Question Do you make recipes you grew up with?

DH's brother and SIL and their 2 kids are coming to visit this weekend and I have been working on getting dinner for tonight ready. I am making chili and a chicken and rice soup, wholewheat bread, and apple crisp for dessert.

I also made some sweet rolls for breakfasts.

While I was working on all this, it occurred to me that the chili and the sweetrolls are recipes that I grew up with. My Mom gave me her sweet roll recipe shortly before we moved to Colorado, and its great because I love these rolls. They are a little labor intensive, but so worth it. My dad's chili recipe he actually just sent to me about a week ago, so I have never tried it before today.

I have great memories attached to both of these recipes. The sweetrolls are a standby for Thanksgiving and Christmas breakfasts, but also as treats during the year. They are one of my Mom's signature items (which BTW I will post the recipes, but I am at work right now).

The chili has been a tradition in my parents house as long as I can remember. It is actually, if I am remembering correctly, an accidental tradition. My Dad was sent to the store to buy meat for Christmas Eve dinner, and there were going to be a lot of people at our house that night. He bought the wrong thing (actually got chili meat) and my Mom, of course flipped out when she discovered it as grocery stores were closing early that day.

So, they punted and found a chili recipe and made that instead. Everyone loved it so much, we have had chili for Christmas Eve dinner at their house for probably 20+ years.

So, these 2 special recipes from the family I grew up in, I get to share tonight with DH's brother and SIL and their kids, as well as DH's aunt.

So does anyone else have recipes that have been passed down through your family that you still make?