Community Message Boards

Thread: flat cookies -- what's to blame?

flat cookies -- what's to blame?

My last two batches of cookies (gingersnaps and oatmeal) have been duds! Both cookies turned out very thin and very flat. I've never had this problem before and wondering if you could help me figure out the culprit. I used a recently posted recipe for the gingersnaps and the Quaker Oats recipe for the oatmeal cookies. My best guess is that my baking soda is a bit dated and might not be doing it's job. Likely or not? How about my cookie sheets? They are the air-bake kind and I've never known cookie sheets to "go bad" but, then again, I'm still learning. Maybe it's my oven? It's not old. Please help! Holiday baking will be a real bummer if I don't get my cookies into better shape.

Thanks!

1. Try dropping some of your baking soda into vinegar. If it fizzes, then it should be OK. If it fizzes only slightly (or not at all), it's time for a new box.

2. Are you greasing the cookie sheets? Too much shortening can be a "flat cookie culprit." There may be enough shortening in the cookie itself that greasing is unnecessary (particularly if the sheets are nonstick).

3. I have the insulated cookie sheets, too, and so far (3 years) no problems...

I have this problem somtimes too -- so frustrating! I always take my butter out of the fridge a few hours early so it is softened but I wonder if I am over-softening it and that is what causes the cookies to be flat. BTW, if my first batch comes out flat, I put the rest of the batter in a square pan and make bar cookies. At least that salvages the dough.

Hey Val, are you out there? If anyone can help us, it is you!

cookies made with butter (as opposed to shortening or a mix of butter and shortening) spread out more. "all-butter" cookies tend to be flatter.

I am not sure what the problem is, though, if these recipes have worked for you before and now they don't work.

Originally posted by kcmo727