Community Message Boards

Thread: Amish Friendship Bread

Amish Friendship Bread

I just got this from one of my co-workers. It had direction to leave it out of the refrigerator and its a 10 day process. Once you have done the 10 days you can store the remaining starter in a container in the refrigerator and begin the 10 day process over again when ready. I'm not too familiar with starters, so does that mean once you have ready to start the process over that you take it out of the refrigerator and leave it out for another 10 days?

I have been doing this for a couple of months now, but my directions are a bit different. My directions say to bake on the 11th day, but before doing so, put one cup of the mixture into 4 bags which are the starter doughs for your friends. To the remaining dough, you add more ingredients and then you bake. I was told to never put my dough in the fridge.

Sorry, I didn't put the part about putting some of the starter in the separate bags. So do you just leave your starter out on the counter and keep repeating the process?

I did exactly as you mentioned, it just sat on the counter until I baked. My friend at work actually freezes her 'starter bags' if she can't give them away. Then when she takes them out, she treats it as day 1 of the process. It makes absolutely delicious bread. I added fresh cranberries to my last batch. Enjoy!

Can someone describe Amish Friendship bread? I think someone may have given me a loaf of this a couple of years ago, but I'm not sure.

Originally posted by Laura B
    Can someone describe Amish Friendship bread? I think someone may have given me a loaf of this a couple of years ago, but I'm not sure.
    It's the bread that becomes a pet! You feed it, you pet it, it has offspring, and then you pawn the offspring off on friends. The dough I had made a bread that was a bit like a quick bread in that it didn't involve any kneading or rising times.
    --Mary Kate--