Community Message Boards

Thread: Is my cast-iron pan supposed to smell like burned oil all the time?

Is my cast-iron pan supposed to smell like burned oil all the time?

I'm new to this cast-iron stuff. I read all the threads on seasoning, cleaning, etc...but I'm still skeptical. It just feels so sticky and icky all the time. I seasoned it with vegetable shortening when I first got it, and I've been scrubbing it out with kosher salt after every use and then wiping it down with a little vegetable oil. I guess I'm just used to scrubbing my dishes with soap until they gleam...is my pan supposed to stay dirty and smell like burning grease when I heat it? Is that just part of its charm?
    -Rebecca

Endurance comes from exhaustion. Keep running!
    --DH, aka "Coach"

someome else can say maybe. I use a mild dishwashing liquid, then reseason. I have never used salt. Mine doesn't smell.
    Leisa

Umm, no. I think you're using too much seasoning! I wash mine with soap and water every time I use it. Only reseason when they start to look less shiny and/or show some rust (oops!). Your oil is turning rancid in your pan. Then again, I am no expert and I inherited my cast iron so it is pretty well seasoned. Haven't had much experience with the new stuff.