Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What changed you?

Hybrid View

Question What changed you?

I am a writer (novelist,) which makes me a student of people and the dynamics that change them. A question for those who don't mind sharing:

Is there a poignant moment in your life at which you can look back and say "that changed me forever?" If so, what was it and how did you change?
    Blogging about Barb horses at The Barb Wire and about the simple pleasures of less urban living at Nightlife. Saddle up and come along for the ride!

I have 2 moments. When is when a 15 year old student of mine came out to me. I knew before his parents knew. That is the moment that I look back on when people ask me why I want to teach.

The second is when I won my scholarship to study for a year in Germany at the university of my choice. I was scared $hitless. I had never been there before, left behind family, BF (now an ex-BF), job, hockey team, etc, and knew no-one. I had a plane ticket, a spot at the university, and a hotel room for the first 3 nights. After the first three nights, I didn't know what I would do. I grew so much that year, and am such a different person now. It was the most amazing year-plus of my life.
    "Is ice hockey hard? I don't know, you tell me. We need to have the strength and power of a football player, the stamina of a marathon runner and the concentration of a brain surgeon. But, we need to put all this together while moving at high speeds on a cold and slippery surface while 5 other guys use clubs to try and kill us. Oh, yeah, did I mention that this whole time we're standing on blades 1/8 of an inch thick. Is ice hockey hard? I don't know, you tell me. Next question."