Community Message Boards

Thread: Fruit Salad - How far in advance can I make it?

Fruit Salad - How far in advance can I make it?

It's just cut fruit (strawberries, apples, bananas, grapes, etc.) in fresh orange and lemon juice. After you make it it needs to sit for two hours.

My question is, if I'm serving this on Saturday morning can I make this Friday evening?

Or can I at least cup up the fruit that won't discolor, like the oranges and bananas and put them into the freezer until I need them?

Thanks,

Krystal

I'm not an expert, but I'd do everything except the bananas...and add those in two hours before serving. Everything else should hold up.
    Curious what others will say.
    Thoreau said, 'A man is rich in proportion to the things he can leave alone.'

I agree with Wallycat, about doing all except the bananas ahead of time. I think if you freeze the cut up fruit, the texture of the salad will be different than what you want.
    “When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed
    door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”

Helen Keller (1880–1968)

The only fruit salad I make is all-berries, but I made a batch Sunday night (no dressing) and the fruit looks remarkably good, still! I'd think berries would be about the most fragile of fruits -besides bananas- so I agree with Ana and Lara; I'd make it Friday. (I wouldn't freeze fruit.)

Southern beaches area of Sydney, Australia
    Apart from the apples and bananas discolouring, wouldn't the berries start to go soft and "mushy" if you do it the night before (even when refrigerated)? What about the juices and fruit starting to ferment making the fruit less than al dente and fresh-tasting?