Community Message Boards

Thread: Quick! Dog ate 15 Hershey kisses!!!

Unhappy Quick! Dog ate 15 Hershey kisses!!!

If anyone is on the board who can tell me how scared I need to be - please help!

We were finishing my DD's valentine bags, went upstairs to dinner, and came down afterwards to find that Rocky, our 60-lb black lab had eaten the leftover 15 hershey kisses! That's about 1.1 oz of milk chocolate.

I did a quick search and found that this amount should only cause some (more) hyper behavior tonight and maybe some, ah, poopy issues tomorrow. A call to my vet will cost me over $100 right now - so if anyone has any experience like this and can let me know, I'd appreciate it!
    I am still learning. - Michelangelo

Been there, done that.

Doesn't sound like a problem for such a big dog. However, if you're very concerned spoon feed him 2 oz. of hydrogen peroxide to make him vomit. But if he's not sick now, you're probably fine.

My last dog ate 4 candy bars (he was 15 pounds) and started throwing up a little, at which point we called the vet who told us about the peroxide thing. It worked - he barfed it all up and was sort of worn out the next day.

Hope this helps!

Debie
    Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway.

Chris,

On Xmas Eve my sister's dog ate 3 of those very LARGE Hershey Kisses...and has eaten whole bags of oreos...and ...nothing...never got sick, vomited...ziltch...and Madison does not weigh as much as Rocky...

~Gail
    "I expect to pass through life but once.
    If, therefore, there be any kindness I can show or any good thing I can do any fellow being, let me do it now and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again."
    -William Penn (1644-1718)

~~www.Nurse-Gail.com~~

Thanks so much, Debi and Gail too! - he's sitting here chewing his Kong, acting just peachy. I'll keep an eye on him for the next few hours and use the hydrogen peroxide trick if needed.

Thankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou!!!