Community Message Boards

Thread: Reheating Fish?

Reheating Fish?

I'm new to the seafood cooking world, so please forgive me if this is a silly question!

I always prepare meals on Sundays to take with me to work for the rest of the week. I generally take chicken salads, soups etc. However, with my new found love for baked/grilled fish I was hoping to also take this in with me and reheat it for lunch. Is this possible? If so, would I reheat it any differently than, say, chicken?

I do have access to a microwave and refrigerator/freezer.

Thanks in advance!
    ERIKA (a dairy-free, and almost soy-free kind of gal)

"I don't know where she got her cooking skills from. I barely have the patience or skill to cook noodles. I'll tell you one thing, though, all she ever wanted to do as a kid was bang on pots and pans." - my mother

IMO, fish just doesn't do well when it's reheated. But I'm somewhat of a fish snob as I go out of my way to get the freshest fish possible. The fish odor and taste that many people find repellent is actually the smell of fish beginning to rot. Fresh fish smells like clean seawater. Ever had the misfortune to be around an office kitchen when some misguided soul has nuked fish leftovers?

That said, I have some recipes that I prep the day before which don't have to be cooked until the next day such as salmon baked in individual packets with veggies.

IMO, you would be better off having poached salmon for lunch which is designed to be cooked beforehand. A really good tuna salad is also great for lunch.

I sometimes reheat salmon at home, or use it in pasta, but I wouldn't heat any fish in the microwave at work. I've experienced the smell of nuked fish in the lunchroom and wouldn't want to be the cause of it. As blazedog said, you could have cold poached salmon, or you could use leftover salmon in salad. Salmon's the only one I ever use as a leftover.