Community Message Boards

Thread: Help with waffles and adding in fruit

Question Help with waffles and adding in fruit

Ok, so I decided to make waffles this morning and my DH had the idea of making blueberry waffles ... however, I have never done this before and figured I could just add the frozen blueberries to the batter. Well, I ended up with a mess and a waffle that was not quite "right" Should I have used fresh berries? If you can use frozen, should they be defrosted first?

So, I am asking all of you who make waffles for your advice on how to make waffles with add-in's... fruit or even chocolate chips.

TIA
    Patsy

for chocolate chips, I add them right to the batter, just before cooking. They seem to be okay. Stir the batter each time you add a batch of pancakes to the griddle or to the frying pan, since they sink to the bottom of thiner batter quick.

For blueberries, I don't add them to the batter. I take frozen berries and microwave them 30 seconds to 1 min depeneding on the amount of berries. That way I can control the amount of juice that gets soaked up by the pancake/waffle.

good luck! Making Chocolate chip pancakes is a favorite activity for myself and DD.

Karen

I make blueberry waffles and I just make sure my waffle iron is sprayed with Pam. After I add the batter I sprinkle frozen blueberries on top and close the lid. I don't have any problem with them turning blue or sticking. Good Luck.
    Maureen

"Trying to live the life I imagined"

I would try sprinkling the frozen blueberries on top as previously suggested. That goes along with everything I have read and done in the past. For chocolate chips, you could do the same thing, OR if you want to mix them in, use MINI chips so they don't sink and are more dispersed throughout the waffle.
    kathyb

Less rhetoric, more cowbell!

Re: Help with waffles and adding in fruit

Originally posted by patsyk
    Should I have used fresh berries? If you can use frozen, should they be defrosted first?