Community Message Boards

Thread: A Healthy Fried Turkey? Really?

A Healthy Fried Turkey? Really?

Where I live fried turkeys are the thing to do for Thanksgiving...I've never done one before, but I have tasted and the meat was juicy and not dry at all. But come one, it can't be healthy!? Has anyone read an article in CL or in any other magazine stating the nutrition. I don't eat the skin so that's not a problem.

i've tried it...

it's really good... really really good. and not greasy at all.

Cat

If the temp of the cooking oil is kept at the recommended temp, and the turkey is removed as soon as it is done and not allowed to soak, then the oil will not be absorbed into the turkey, therefore it won't be greasy.
    "If she ain't happy, then you ain't happy"
    Jeff Foxworthy

Misplaced CA in PA

Quote Originally Posted by bensdad
    If the temp of the cooking oil is kept at the recommended temp, and the turkey is removed as soon as it is done and not allowed to soak, then the oil will not be absorbed into the turkey, therefore it won't be greasy.
    He's right, you'll only really find the oil on the skin (obviously), but the skin isn't that great for you anyway. And fried turkey is OH-SO-TASTY!!!! I miss the south
    I will not eat oysters. I want my food dead - not sick, not wounded - dead. ~Woody Allen

We have deep fried our turkey the last few years and have reused the oil, too. When I was putting the oil back into the container to freeze, I was amazed how little oil we actually used. We use the same oil for 2 years. We do a number of turkeys - as long as we have the fryer going, we do turkeys for some of the neighbors, too. It only takes about 45 minutes apiece. Gives the guys a good excuse to stand around, talking football, and drinking beer. And then they brag about cooking the turkey
    Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way you cope with it is what makes the difference.

deep fried turkey...