Community Message Boards

Thread: Cycle:Wind Trainer vs Mag Trainer

Cycle:Wind Trainer vs Mag Trainer

I am new to cycling and would like to get a trainer for indoors so I can continue riding over the winter. Does anyone know the difference between a Wind trainer vs a Mag Trainer besides price? Also has anyone ordered from The Fitness Store ?

Any help is appreciated.

Laura

We have a CycleOps mag trainer, as well as rollers. Both are excruciatingly, mind-numbingly boring :-) The rollers are much harder, but better training for simulating the road.

If I'm not mistaken, you can't actually buy a wind trainer, right? I thought that was the lab setup where you actually have wind going across you. Maybe I'm wrong.

I haven't ever bought anything from the Fitness Store. We bought our trainer directly from CycleOps at a cycling event. Bought our rollers from all3sports.com.

You should also check out Coloradocyclist.com for their prices, as well. they're expensive, but have regular sales.

We just picked up one of the Spinervals DVD but haven't used it yet since the weather's still nice enough to ride outdoors. They're supposed to be great.

Once you get up & running, let me know how you stay motivated during your indoor training. I need all the tips I can get!!

The wind trainer uses a little fan attached to the roller to provide resistance.
    The Mag trainer uses repelling magnets to provide resistance.
    The wind trainer is a bit noisier.
    I set mine up in front of the TV to combat the boredom. And...I use the trainer in the summer and bike outside during the winter.
    Hope this Helps,
    Kris

LOL! You're in Phoenix, so the opposite outdoor season as me. We have friends there who do a lot of biking, too. It's wild to hear how early they have to ride in the summer to avoid the heat.

The TV doesn't help me much, but DH keeps telling me to get over it. So far, I've topped out at about 45 min....and that's with the Sopranos on!