Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Idiotic question re: baked brie

Idiotic question re: baked brie

I've never done baked brie before (or even seen it done) and I want to have this at a party. What do I serve alongside? Crackers? Bread? Fruit?
    I will not eat oysters. I want my food dead - not sick, not wounded - dead. ~Woody Allen

I'd say crackers and fruit, What type of brie are you doing?
    I love cooking with wine sometimes I even put it in the food.

Quote Originally Posted by patissac
    I'd say crackers and fruit, What type of brie are you doing?
    Heh, heh....type of brie? There are types? Good lord I'm really letting my un-gourmet banner fly on this one.
    I will not eat oysters. I want my food dead - not sick, not wounded - dead. ~Woody Allen

I like baguette slices with it. Many people also serve some sort of jam/chutney with it.
    <)>>< Candace ><<)>

Trish, you can bake brie in puff pastry or plain. Paula Deen put a brown sugar & nut topping on it that looked yummy too. Apples, crackers & toasted baguettes all sound good.
    Dorothy aka Martha

Somewhere over the rainbow...

My favorite way to do baked brie is to roll out a sheet of puff pastry, spread some preserves in the middle to cover a spot the size of the brie, plop the brie on top, and wrap it up. I have used different types of preserves but my favorites are a sweet/spicy combination, such as a raspberry chipotle sauce (which I keep on hand for these types of recipes now, because it's so good!). I bake that on a cookie sheet in a preheated oven at 400 for 20 minutes, then let it sit for about 30 minutes before serving so the brie doesn't goosh out when you cut into it. I usually serve with crackers on the side.
    "Men are like a fine wine. They all start out like grapes, and
    it's our job to stomp on them and keep them in the dark until they
    mature into something which you'd like to have to dinner."

Quote Originally Posted by dorothyntototoo