Community Message Boards

Thread: How Is Your Cooking?

How Is Your Cooking?

Do you consider yourself a good cook? If so, where or how did you learn all you know? I'm a terrible cook. I cooked some good hamburgers lastnight using lipton onion soup mix, dale seasoning and an onion and they were really good. I done it again today and in about 6 minutes time they got burnt real bad. I guess im gonna have to watch the grill a little closer.

Im gonna buy some cook books. Can you help me out with some good ones? Thanks

I do consider myself a good cook and I'll tell you why. Everyone who eats my food always thinks it tastes great and it's an extremely rare occasion when something I make doesn't turn out. I hear very often that my ____ (chicken parm, meatballs, soup, brisket, enchiladas etc.) are "The best I've ever had". My mom cooked almost every weeknight when I was a kid and we ate out at good restaurants on weekends (not kid places) so I developed a love of food and passion for cooking at a very young age. By 12 y.o. I was (sometimes) cooking meals for my family. I truly believe that what makes someone a great cook is a passion for food. If you don't love food and to eat, I just don't see how one can become a great cook. Food=love to me.
    Aside from that natural passion, practice, practice, practice will help a good amount. Just keep trying over and over until you get it right. Like, you could make hamburgers every day for a week and you would probably get the hang of it.
    I love the Silver Palate Cookbook. Although I have a ton of cookbooks I rarely, if ever, even crack them open.
    Don't get upset if a recipe doesn't work out. Just keep trying and you will get it. We've all had things we've had to try over and over before perfecting. The key is to keep at it.
    Good luck and have fun trying,
    Lisa