Community Message Boards

Thread: Why did my cookies go flat?

Why did my cookies go flat?

I'm a cookie baker, but I've never, ever been able to make a killer chocolate chip cookie. Even the Toll House recipe never seems to turn out right.

I just made 13 dozen cookies for a work potluck tomorrow. I used a recipe from allrecipes that got rave reviews. The only thing some said was that the 3 cups of flour called for was too much, so it was cut to 2.5 cups. One cup each of white and brown sugar was cut to 3/4 cup each also per reviews. The only thing I found odd about the recipe was to dissolve the baking soda in water before adding it to the wet ingredients with the salt, and then adding the flour. Most said it did a good job of preventing the baking soda taste, but I still thought it was odd.

The flavor of the cookies is wonderful, but the cookies are flat. They didn't spread too much, they just flattened out to wafer thin with chocolate chip lumps. They're chewy, crispy on the edges, have the crackle wrinkles on the top just like I like, but they're waaaay flat.

Could dissolving the baking soda in water have done that? Just curious!
    ~ "The right shoe can change your life...."- Cinderella ~

Did you use all butter? In my vast chocolate chip cookie experience (they're almost the only cookie I bake) butter only makes a flat cookie. Half or all shortening makes a puffier cookie.

I've been experimenting with half trans-fat free shortening and half butter. I've not gotten what I want yet. Crispy edges, the crackle edges on top, still gooey chips on the inside, but still a bit puffy.

I haven't used water with the baking soda. I do use extra vanilla, and I've never noticed the extra liquid making the cookies flat.

It is odd that your cookies are flat even with all that flour. Can you post the entire recipe?
    If loving me is wrong, you don't want to be right.

Don't touch the hair!
    JB