Community Message Boards
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Group recipes.com

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Naperville, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,453

    Question Group recipes.com

    Has anyone ever heard of this site?

    Got an e-mail last night "inviting" me to the www.grouprecipes.com "food exploration community." It doesn't exactly look like spam, and the headers don't indicate it as such, but I've never heard of it, nor do I have any knowledge of Kristopher, the "Chief Group Recipes Nerd."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Near my friends.
    Posts
    8,468
    Google it and see what you come up with.

    Good luck.
    Joyce
    Tuesday, November 6, 2012

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    9,076
    I got the same invitation, Ralph. I clicked on it and looked around, but didn't recognize any of the other names there either. The whole site doesn't appeal to me at all, so I won't be going there again, but I do wonder who it was who invited us. Perhaps they grabbed all the email addresses from this site and sent us a "spam" invitation. Who knows.

  4. #4
    I've been getting stuff in my email and on my blog about this site. I corresponded with Kristopher who asked for feedback on the site. I provided some, but not sure if he/she really wanted any or if they were really just trying to promote. I did, however, get several polite emails in return, thanking me for my input.

    I thought it looked like a nice idea, but right now, it's too all over the place. It needs a focus. I suggested that making it a place for Food Bloggers to come and chat as a way to give it a focus.

    I will also add that as a moderator of the Great Food board, I can see a little more about who posts what and who is who (I can see the IP addresses). A new member posted about Group Recipes about a month ago - a suspicious thing. Everyone decided to give this person the benefit of the doubt, but then I noticed that someone else who was new, also posted to this same thread, raving about Group Recipes. Turns out the OP and the second new member were the same person.

    Since the site was food related and since it could actually be of interest to others out there, I left it and did not report it to Jennifer. However, now I'm getting annoyed. I've gotten notices through my blog site, notices through my email, and they have spammed the site here. If they post again, I'll report it to Jennifer (I'm only removing blatant spam at this point).

    It may well become a nice site, but enough already!

  5. #5
    As for the emails.....I'm assuming that the poster/spammer who raved about this site is browsing through member profiles and gathering emails here on this site and using them to send invites.

    I think I'll let Jennifer know about the 2 members with the same IP addresses see if she wants to ban them. They have not posted since that initial thread, so it's safe to say it was SPAM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Southeastern MA
    Posts
    2,855
    Quote Originally Posted by lindrusso View Post
    I will also add that as a moderator of the Great Food board, I can see a little more about who posts what and who is who (I can see the IP addresses). A new member posted about Group Recipes about a month ago - a suspicious thing. Everyone decided to give this person the benefit of the doubt, but then I noticed that someone else who was new, also posted to this same thread, raving about Group Recipes. Turns out the OP and the second new member were the same person.

    Since the site was food related and since it could actually be of interest to others out there, I left it and did not report it to Jennifer. However, now I'm getting annoyed. I've gotten notices through my blog site, notices through my email, and they have spammed the site here. If they post again, I'll report it to Jennifer (I'm only removing blatant spam at this point).
    Alysha - Thanks for acting as moderator. I was just thinking that we haven't seen much spam around here lately. Keep up the good work!

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Lauren View Post
    Alysha - Thanks for acting as moderator. I was just thinking that we haven't seen much spam around here lately. Keep up the good work!
    Thanks, but there is actually no need to thank me! I've deleted all of 2 threads! There just hasn't been much lately - most likely due to whatever changes were made recently.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Naperville, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,453
    Quote Originally Posted by lindrusso View Post
    As for the emails.....I'm assuming that the poster/spammer who raved about this site is browsing through member profiles and gathering emails here on this site and using them to send invites.
    That's exactly what I had thought! Thanks for the feedback, Alysha!

    And as for the lack of spam, can't say I don't miss it. I've taken to looking at the newest member portion of the BB home page, and for what it's worth, the latest new member joined almost a week ago, so either the cretins are on vacation (doubt), or the board changes are working (likely)!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,791
    Actually, I received an email also.....so I signed up. The site is all about sharing recipes with friends on the site. I am going to give it a try for a month or so and see what happens. The website reminds me of www.bakespace.com, which is also a shared recipe group. Check out the bakespace website. It doesn't hurt to register and if you don't like it than that is okay too. I read about bakespace in a Boston newspaper.

    Happy New Year to all!

    Sue.....who promises to stop by now and then

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Mamasue View Post
    Actually, I received an email also.....so I signed up. The site is all about sharing recipes with friends on the site. I am going to give it a try for a month or so and see what happens. The website reminds me of www.bakespace.com, which is also a shared recipe group. Check out the bakespace website. It doesn't hurt to register and if you don't like it than that is okay too. I read about bakespace in a Boston newspaper.

    Happy New Year to all!

    Sue.....who promises to stop by now and then
    Hi Mamasue! How are you??

    I agree that it could be a neat site, I'm just getting annoyed at how aggressively they are going about promoting it. I'm already signed up, but I still got an invite.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,791
    Happy New Year! I am well and hope everything is also well with you and your family. You are doing a great job on your blog. I check in once in a while

    Have you tried www.bakespace.com? I like that one better.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Mamasue View Post
    Have you tried www.bakespace.com? I like that one better.
    I'll check that one out - thanks. But I need to do a lot less baking! It's become somewhat of a compulsion - not that I bake a lot compared to some people, but I bake a lot more than I used to and it's catching up to me!

  13. #13

    Cool

    I also got one of those messages. I figured there was some connection to this site (the site where I work sure isn't peopled by foodies) which I found odd since I've been around so very little the past year or so. But then again, I also seem to have started off the new year with a bogus e-mail naming one of the members here as sender (I know it wasn't really from her!) trying to pass off a virus.

    I just LOVE the Internet sometimes...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    7,805
    I don't think it is cool for a member to use a site that someone else owns solely to promote their own site through underhanded PM's and email recruitment. On forums I moderate, we delete these threads and ban the spammer.
    Last edited by Gumbeaux; 01-03-2007 at 10:31 PM.

  15. #15
    FYI - I just emailed Jennifer about the original thread to see if she wanted to delete the thread and/or ban the posters.

    I put a button on my blog to help them promote this site, but now I'm annoyed by their tactics, so I'm going to go remove it. :mad:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •