Community Message Boards

Thread: What's the best brand of oyster sauce?

What's the best brand of oyster sauce?

There are 10 trillion of them out there! I can't help but think there's got to be a range of quality, but I have no idea which should be best. Does anyone shop with a Chinese cook or someone who knows the difference among all the brands? I'd like to find a good one and stick with it. Looking for a LTR, I guess.
    Happiness is not a goal, it is a byproduct. - Eleanor Roosevelt

My husband is chinese and his parents have always used Lee Kum Kee (it's got a panda on the label) and so that's what we use here.

Oyster Sauce

I've been shopping in NYC's Chinatown for over 25 years and long ago, learned from the shopkeepers to buy Koon Chun products, particularly the hoisin, oyster and soy sauces. I also like the Lee Kum Kee products.
    Enjoy! BTW, are you cooking anything special with it? I love oyster sauce and use it frequently. I have a great classic recipe for Oyster Beef if you're interested.

Karen

I use Mae Krua
    Well-behaved women seldom make history!

Lee Kum Kee is the one I have currently, Apricot (never seem to buy the same one twice). No panda on the bottle, though - it's this one:

Nothing in particular, KGL (well that's not entirely true, tonight I made a variation on this Thai Chicken with Green Beans and Basil) but I use it fairly frequently in various recipes. I would take you up on your offer, but alas I don't cook beef - but thank you.

At one time, when I didn't know which Asian condiment to buy I would just lurk until some confident looking cook came up to buy the same thing. If she spoke English I'd get her recommendation. Don't know why I don't do that anymore. Not that that isn't perfectly subjective as well anyhow.

I'll look for Mae Krua as well, sneezles. Glad for any and all reco's!

I believe Lee Kum Kee was just rated as the best by CI -- sorry that was the hoisin sauce.