Community Message Boards

Thread: Cheesecake made with Ricotta?

Cheesecake made with Ricotta?

I am thinking that "New York Style" cheesecake is made with ricotta, not cream cheese. I love that dense heavy cheesecake (like at the Stage Deli!!) and you just don't get that texture with cream cheese.

However my Google searches are giving me recipes with cream cheese and my mother's recipe which I've always thought of as the best (but I haven't had it in years) has cottage cheese! That can't be right. My memories are of her complaining about how expensive it was to make and I just can't imagine there's cottage cheese in there. My mother would die before she ate cottage cheese.

am I crazy? Maybe you shouldn't answer that! But I am looking for what I think is a ricotta cheesecake that comes out super dense and heavy.

Loren
    The term "working mother" is redundant.

I'm not a cheesecake expert, but as far as I know, ricotta cheesecakes are lighter and fluffier than cream cheese cheesecakes. I think the ones at Stage Deli probably use LOTS of cream cheese to make them so dense and heavy.

Gracie,

I think you should be looking for Italian New York cheesecake recipes. Those will be the ones made with ricotta.
    Life ain't Certain. Ride Your Best Horse First

Seconding the mention of Italian Cheesecake. I've made this one before, and it's delish and easy.
    Visit my website (mostly cooking, with life thrown in for good measure):
    http://www.sweetnicks.com

Maybe this site will help you. It includes a recipe that is designated as being from the Stage Deli.

Cheesecake Recipes
    The reason a dog has so many friends is that he wags his tail instead of his tongue. - Anonymous

Loren,
    I think that cheesecake made with ricotta is the Italian dessert Torta di Ricotta, and is quite different from the creamy style American cheesecake.