Community Message Boards

Thread: Burned Teflon?

Burned Teflon?

My DH left a telfon pan in the broiler and it caught fire this evening. Fire's out, smoke has cleared and everything's okay - except for the nasty smell from the teflon. I know teflon fumes are bad but how bad?? - bad like we should move out of the house temporarily or just not be on the first floor (the basement and 2nd story do not smell). And any suggestions on how to get rid of the teflon smell? We've left the back door open and sprinkled some baking soda out but there has to be something more we can do right? Any suggestions? Thank you!

I'm no expert, but I would think that the amount of teflon on a pan is very little, not enough to worry about. If a burnt pan could do you any harm, I doubt they could sell teflon pans as it's not unheard of for someone to burn a pan!

If your OH is prone to burning pans, I suggest replacing the burnt one with a titanium coated non-stick pan. My wife is prone to burning things, I got fed up of replacing non-stick pans once a year so I forked out and got a titanium one which so far she hasn't managed to destroy. The nonstick is guaranteed for 25 years so I'm optimistic that this will survive longer than usual.

As regards getting rid of the smell - open windows and spray air-fresheners are about the best you can do. Spray ones should absorb the nasties into the liquid which will fall to the ground.