Community Message Boards

Thread: ISO Gluten-free, sugar-free, unleavened bread recipe

Question ISO Gluten-free, sugar-free, unleavened bread recipe

Friends, I've got a daunting task. I'm responsible for supervising a group of people who make bread for our school's daily Communion services (for those who don't know, I'm a student at an Episcopal Seminary studying to become an Episcopal minister). We have people with food allergies and/or medical conditions they can't partake of the bread we make right now - it is whole wheat with honey.

My goal is to find something that the whole worshiping community can partake of taking into account the allergies/sensititivities/medical conditions. I believe we contend with: lactose intolerence (thus no milk), gluten allergy (thus no wheat based products), Type I/Type II diabetes (thus no honey/sugar).

Have I bitten off more than I can proverbially chew? Can anyone point me in a good direction? I've googled and checked most of the cooking sites I can find and most of the recipes I can find have one of the offending items or makes wafers (and that's not preferred).

TIA for your thoughts and recommendations.

Les
    Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you." Deut. 31:6 (NIV)

Reflections on life and spirituality can be found at https://revles.wordpress.com

Visit my new ministry site: St. John's Episcopal church, Suffolk VA.

Les, I'm confused. You say you want an unleavened bread that isn't a wafer. What would that look like? I can find gluten free matzo recipes but that is going to give you a wafer.

If you have a bread recipe that fits the bill, can you sub an all-purpose gluten free flour like Bob's Red Mill makes?
    Democrats are Sexy. Who has ever heard of a good piece of elephant?