Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you wash in hot water?

What do you wash in hot water?

I have been washing my clothes for over 25 yrs and my mom always washing in cold water so I took the habit to wash in cold water except that once in a while I will wash my towels in hot water and other days in cold water and dry them in the dryer.

I was recently reading that you should wash your bedding, towels and underwear always on very hot water.

I find that doing that the underwear don't last and the towels fade really fast.

We were never sick in my family growing up and I raised my family with cold water and they seem to be fine.

What do you do? Do you wash everything in hot water?
    Helene

''In cooking, as in all the arts, simplicity is the sign of perfection.''
    -Curnonsky

My Blog: La Cuisine d'Helene

Twitter: @lacuisinehelene

I only wash towels and bed linens in hot water. I use cold for everything else.

I wash almost everything on "warm" to keep from having to make a decision!
    I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day. ~E.B. White

I wash whites in hot water.

And anything that the dogs lay on . . . or do anything else on!!!
    Theresa & Gigi & Anisette & Enchante & Le Beau Ouiseaux Rouge

I wash towels, bedding and all whites in hot. For the men in my family, I wash their undergarments in white and bleach.

I wash everything in cold except occaisionally a load of towels. If someone is ill (rare now, but was more frequent when the kids were little) I will wash their bedding and towels in hot.

My tighty whities and socks get washed in hot water with soap and bleach.

I wash everything in cold unless it is really yucky or dog related. And "really yucky" is normally dog related.

DH will wash his whites in hot but he hasn't complained or notice a difference when I wash them in cold.