Community Message Boards

Thread: what colours go best with aqua?

what colours go best with aqua?

I have a spare room (my sewing room) that I painted in a nice shade of aqua because I love the colour. I've decided that I want to put a single bed in there as well as using it for sewing as an extra guest room. Does anyone have any thoughts on what colours would go well with this colour?

My spare room is painted a tan color (it is acutually glazed, so it looks like a honey color). The trim is off white. Anyway, I have a key painting in that room that is aqua with some teal and yellow. I found a throw pillow that is painted silk with the same colors. So even though it doesn't sound like a match, I would get some bright yellow swatches, and then take the aqua color and go either toward the greens or the other way toward the blues and see what you like. Of course, I am not an interior designer. I am sure there is a "right" answer that has to do with the color wheel. I just know that my spare room is one of my favorites in the house.

Exclamation Aqua & "Peach"

I also have a spare room that is fondly called my craft-sewing-cookbook collection-dollhouse room.
    I decided to use a color scheme of aqua and peach from a painting that primarily uses those colors and holds a place of interest on one of the walls.
    The walls are divided by stenciling with aqua & peach floral & ribbon design. The top half is white, the bottom is aqua. I use the same color scheme, aqua, peach & white in most everything else in the room from floral displays to the Victoria dollhouse (a large one that takes up one third of the room). I alternate between two different window dressings, one in aqua and one in peach since the top half of the wall is white. Everyone finds the room attractive and peaceful.

I usually find one object that has the primary color I'm going to use and see what other colors have been used with it to complement the design, and then pick the similar combination.