Community Message Boards

Thread: Egg whites and stiff peaks?

Question Egg whites and stiff peaks?

Hi everyone,
    I have finally decided to post this question since I see this all the time in baking recipes.
    I am going to make a cake and it states to "beat 6 large egg whites until stiff peaks form. It is always followed by "DO NOT OVERBEAT!"
    Now the peaks form, but what exactly makes it a stiff peak. I guess what I am really looking for is a time frame. I usually beat about 4-5 minutes, is this too much, too little? I also use a hand mixer on the high setting (still longing for a KA mixer!)

Thanks in advance, everyone is always sooo helpful on this board!!

Sherri

I just had this experience. I had to beat a plethora of egg whites into peaks for a baked apple recipe that entails pulling out th apples, making a meringue, topping them and baking them in the oven a few more minutes.

My first batch was really stiff. I'm no egg expert but I discovered that I just beat the hell out of them courtesy of my kitchen aid mixer. When I went to scrape the bowl, it was like working with styrofoam. It was really tough and there were peaks allright but amn, it was too stiff nd very tough to handle, let alone dispense properly.

I put them aside and later baked them in small forms t o make mini cookies. In the interim, I threw together yet another bacth of egg whites.

Beat them and just don't leave. I mean it. Check the consistency a few times. They will suddenly take off. If you overbeat them you get tough egg whites. Just pay attention. I had success with medium speed and constantly observing the texture. Peaks will suddenly arrive and if you keep going it gets really tough.

I overexplained once again but hey - try it, you'll be fine.
    In the beginning, God created man, but seeing him so feeble, He gave him a dog

Experience actually is the best teacher...