Community Message Boards

Thread: How do you 'de-vein' shrimp?

Red face How do you 'de-vein' shrimp?

OK, another embarassing question from.... me. I'm sure there's someone else who doesn't know this either!

When a recipe calls for shrimp, peeled and deveined, what does that mean??? I understand about peeling the shells of the shrimp, but what's deveining, and how do I do it? I usually just peel the shrimp and let it go at that. Am I going to die?

Re: How do you 'de-vein' shrimp?

Originally posted by lisas3575
    Am I going to die?
    Only if you look closely enough..........

I'm no expert on cleaning shrimp (just eating it), but if you look at the back of the shrimp, there's a thin black line that runs along the back. I suspect we don't want to know what it is, so lets just leave it at that.

I've eaten undeveined shrimp (hah - I just made up a word) - I just couldn't think about it for too long......sorta like how I am about eating eggs.........

Anyway, it's just "cleaner" to clean 'em. And there's a nifty little deshrimp deveining device that you can buy for a couple bucks, but I can't tell you how they work or how good they are. Sorry for such useless information.......it's Thursday night, I'm punchy, and probably shouldn't even be here............

A sharp paring knife tends to work for me....just make a slit at the top of the piece of shrimp, slice through to what I guess is the backbone of the shrimp and find the little black "thread" that runs along it. Then it's fairly easy to lift it out with the knife or maybe help it along with your fingers. Trial and error. I never deveined shrimp until I tried recipes that called for "halved" shrimp. After a few practice dishes, you can do it in your sleep.