Community Message Boards

Thread: Help with Oven 'Fried' Fish

Help with Oven 'Fried' Fish

I am planning on making cod for my BF tomorrow. I purchased 2 lbs.
    I want to bake it, but it would be great if I could make it 'taste' fried. He loves fried fish, but I know fried fish is pretty unhealthy. Can anyone give me a good recipe? Also, what side dishes might be yummy with this? This is my first time making fish, so 'secrets to success' would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Here's a few recipes I copied off this BB. I haven't tried any of them yet.......

Potato-Crusted Cod

1/2 cup buttermilk -- (low-fat)
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon black pepper
    2 garlic cloves -- minced
    3/4 cup potato flakes -- (not granules)
    4 (6-oz) cod fillets -- (can also use red snapper or mahimahi fillets)
    1 tablespoon butter
    4 lemon wedges

Combine first 4 ingredients in a shallow dish. Place potato flakes in another shallow dish. Dip fillets in buttermilk mixture; dredge in potato flakes. Melt butter in large nonstick skillet over medium high heat. Add fish; cook 3 minutes on each side or until golden and fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Serve with lemon wedges. 4 Servings
    Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 213 Calories; 4g Fat (18.7% calories from fat); 32g Protein; 10g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 82mg Cholesterol; 297mg Sodium. Exchanges: 1/2 Grain(Starch); 4 Lean Meat; 0 Vegetable; 0 Fruit; 0 Non-Fat Milk; 1/2 Fat.

EASY BAKED FISH FILLETS
    Cooking Light October 1999, Page 118

1 1/2 lbs. grouper or other white fish fillets
    1 T fresh lime juice
    1 T light mayonnaise
    1/8 tsp. onion powder
    1/8 tsp. black pepper
    1/2 c fresh breadcrumbs
    1 1/2 T butter or stick margarine, melted
    2 T chopped fresh parsley