Community Message Boards

Thread: Fresh Tart Cherries for Pie...

Fresh Tart Cherries for Pie...

Hi,
    I was pleasantly suprised last night at my farmer's market when they had sour cherries by the quart. (The vendor said that the cool spring and late summer contributed to the late cherry season.) I bought 2 quarts (I practically needed a bank loan , but I'm hoping it will be worth it.) I want to make a cherry pie. I've never used fresh cherries before, only sour cherries in the can.

Any tried and true recipes using fresh cherries? Any tips? What is the best thickening agent for cherries? Tapioca? I really want to do this right. My DH loves cherry pie, besides I don't want to waste $9.50 worth of cherries. YIKES!

Renée
    Happiness is a good piece of chocolate and a good cup of coffee.

sour cherries are the BEST!

I'm a long time fan of sour cherries -- they make fabulous jam and absolutely delicious pie! We have friends that every Christmas hope against hope for some jam from us. Of course, that's if you like sweet/tart combinations of things, which my family does.

Their season seems to be a week or two later than other cherries (in MA). They are juicier, so whenever I make a pie I use an additional T of tapioca. I don't have a recipe on me, but if memory serves, you need about 4.5 cups pitted cherries for a pie. I use a scant 1/2 cup sugar for a bing cherry pie so for sour cherries I'd use 1 cup sugar plus the extra tapioca. If you don't use the extra tapioca, you'll just have lots of juice, no harm there. But you will want the extra sugar.

As a matter of fact, I've got some pitted in the fridge right now. The rules in our house are that if you prep the fruit/vegs/whatever, you can influence what I make with it. Our DS just decided on PIE!

Let us know how yours turns out?!