Community Message Boards

Thread: Ground Turkey VS. Ground Beef???

Question Ground Turkey VS. Ground Beef???

I was wondering if any one could explain what is the difference between ground beef and ground turkey? I know one is a bird and one is a cow, but nutrition wise?? I made a chili recipe out of the "Complete Cooking Light Cookbook", it called for ground sirloin but I substituted ground turkey. It was great and my husband didn't know the difference.
    This is my first time using ground turkey and I was looking for any info.

well, ground turkey is definitely much much lower in fat, I can tell you that much

Doesn't the ground turkey have to specifically be the breast meat before it's lower in fat than the sirloin? I thought I heard something to that effect.

I think I have read the same thing also, but I was not sure because I can't remember where I read that. Do you think it is better for you? I normally don't eat red meat (health reasons) but I found this to be a nice substitute.

Originally posted by shoyski:
    Doesn't the ground turkey have to specifically be the breast meat before it's lower in fat than the sirloin? I thought I heard something to that effect.

Here. Play with this a while.

This is the link to USDA Nutrient Database for Standard reference.
    www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/cgi-bin/nut_search.pl

When the market offers "ground turkey", it is often a combination of white & dark meat ...plus skin. This can be as high or higher in faat than "ground beef".
    For truly low fat, ask for ground breast meat only . Better yet- buy the breast & ask teh butcher to grind the meat - without any skin. Can be costly, but you know for sure what's in it.