Community Message Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need help with pot roasts and beef roasts in general.

Red face I need help with pot roasts and beef roasts in general.

While the rest of America is probably trying to cut back on beef, I am actually beginning to cook MORE of it. I have little or no experience with anything beyond ground beef and flank steak. I have been eating meat again since about 1997 after not eating for 7 years and one of the last frontiers for me is beef. Even when I did eat meat, I didn't cook much beef. Now I'd like to learn how - I like it just okay, but my DH and boys love it.

Anyway, I did a crockpot recipe tonight and I am confused. I was hoping to make a pot roast. Pot roast as I remember it is falling apart tender, you can pretty much flake it with a fork. What I ended up with tonight is more like what I'd call roast beef, something you'd slice, not flake.

I'm so clueless that when my recipe called for rump roast or a chuck roast, I had no idea what to look for in the store. The butcher pointed me toward a chuck roast (looked more like a steak to me) and a bottom round. I chose the bottom round.

I cooked it in the crockpot with a bottle of beer, about a half can of consumme and various other ingredients. I used a thermometer and stopped cooking it when the temp reached 160 or 165. Was this too long? It was still a bit pink. It cooked for about 3 1/2 hours on low, I think.

Is what I'm imagining in my head NOT pot roast (tender, almost a pulled look to it)? Or is what's in my head a pot roast made from a specific cut of meat? I'm thinking of something like Bob Evans' pot roast sandwich, but that's definitely not what I got. How do I achieve this kind of pot roast?

What I need is a step-by-step tutorial - from what kind of meat cut to buy (putting "pot roast" as an ingredient does not help me because the stores don't label any of their cuts by this term), to how and how long to cook it, to how I can tell when it's done.